Japan Announces New Sanctions Against Russia Following G7

Written by Henrik Rothen

Feb.25 - 2024 2:00 PM CET

Photo: Alexandros Michailidis / Shutterstock.com
Photo: Alexandros Michailidis / Shutterstock.com
Japan Announces New Sanctions Against Russia Following G7.

Trending Now

Japanese Prime Minister Fumio Kishida has announced plans to impose additional sanctions on Russian citizens and organizations, thereby expressing solidarity with the decisions of the G7 member countries.

The statement was made during an online discussion among the group's leaders, as reported by NHK.

Kishida emphasized the importance of showing unity with Ukraine amidst ongoing conflict and the complex situation. He also noted that supporting Kyiv remains one of Japan's main priorities in 2024.

The announcement of Japan's new sanctions came after the G7 leaders' summit, which took place on February 24, marking the second anniversary of the military operation in Ukraine. The summit resolved to take measures aimed at reducing Russia's income from energy exports. Specifically, the G7 countries committed to tightening control over the prices of Russian oil and imposing sanctions against those who help circumvent restrictions.

The United States has already introduced about 500 sanctions against Russia, affecting various sectors, including the "National Payment Card System" (NPCS), car manufacturer Aurus, FGUP "NAMI", PIK Group, "Mechel", and others.

Furthermore, the European Union approved its 13th package of sanctions, expanding the list of goods banned for export to Russia.

This list includes potential parts for the development and assembly of drones. Export restrictions have also been imposed on 27 organizations accused of supporting Russia's military-industrial complex, located in various countries, including India, China, Kazakhstan, Thailand, Serbia, and Sri Lanka.