Referee blunder leads to Goal: What was the he thinking?

Written by Henrik Rothen

Nov.07 - 2023 8:41 AM CET

Photo: Facebook
Photo: Facebook
What was the he thinking?

Trending Now

In a dramatic twist during the MLS playoffs, a referee's unexpected interference played a pivotal role in the outcome of a match between the Vancouver Whitecaps and LAFC.

As Vancouver's midfielder Alessandro Schopf pursued the ball following a partial clearance, he collided with the match official, which left him on the ground.

Taking advantage of the situation, LAFC quickly transitioned to offense, with Denis Bouanga scoring into an unguarded net as the Whitecaps players were left in disarray.

This incident sparked outrage among the Vancouver Whitecaps players and fans, as the referee's involvement directly influenced the play leading to LAFC's goal.

The controversy highlights the unpredictable nature of soccer, where even a referee can become an unintended obstacle with significant consequences for the game's result.

Made another big blunder

The incident where the referee 'tackles' a player is not the only reason for the Vancouver Whitecaps' fury. In the build-up to the goal, there was also a mistake that should have been spotted.

At first glance, it may not seem like there's an offside in the play, since a Vancouver Whitecaps player is back as the last man, but since the goalkeeper is out of play, there should actually be TWO players behind the ball.

The rules state, 'a player is offside if they are in the attacking half and closer to the opposing team's goal line than both the ball and the second-last opponent.'

Therefore, there should have been an offside called at the goal, and thus the match referee made two serious errors that led to the goal.

You can see both situations in the clip below.

Most Read